Get Daily Dose of Legal Updates like this
We will send you latest legal updates via emails. Isn't that cool?
Subscribe Free!

Actually we will not spam you and keep your personal data secure

Bombay HC raps Maha govt for not effectively implementing Disaster Management Act
Judge Loya death case: SC takes over Bombay HC cases, bars HCs from entertaining related pleas

Om Prakash Rawat to succeed AK Joti as new Chief Election Commissioner

by AnkitaJanuary 21, 2018

Om Prakash Rawat has been appointed as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), succeeding incumbent Achal Kumar Jyoti to the post, the Law Ministry said on Sunday. AK Joti is expected to hand over the reigns of the Election Commission to Rawat on January 23.

Meanwhile, former finance secretary Ashok Lawasa has been appointed as election commissioner.

Rawat is a retired Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre (Batch 1977). Prior to his appointment as Election Commissioner of India, Shri Rawat had retired as Secretary to the Govt. of India, Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises, Department of Public Enterprises on December 31, 2013 on superannuation.

Leave a Reply

For content submissions/permissions: